Fougasse for Bread Baking Day

This is my little contribution to the BREADBAKINGDAY Blog Event. Little, because it is not one of my own recipes but copied from my favorite bread baking book „Dough, Simple Contemporary Bread“ by Richard Bertinet, a Frenchman in England. Here is a picture of the German version:

The Fougasse that I made yesterday for this post did not turn out as pretty as the one on the cover, but for a book cover I would give it another try, and not just take take the first picture.


Ingredients

500 g white wheat flour (I took 300 dark + 200 white)
10 g fresh baking yeast
10 g salt (I usually take 12 to 14 g)
350 g water
200 g corn or wheat flour for dusting>

Procedure

Preheat the oven to 250 degC.
Switch on the heating at least 30 minutes before baking.

Let the dough raise in a bowl for an hour, then move it on the well dusted working space, carefully flatten it out into a square shape, cut it in 2 rectangles, and the rectangles again into 3 small ones, to totally get 6 flat pieces.

Cut the pieces diagonally, close to the 2 corners, and place some other similar cuts as you like, and then widen the cuts carefully with fingers to get openings. Don’t worry too much about the final shape of the Fougasse, just do it! They can still be arranged/corrected a bit when you later place them onto the „baking shovel“ (excuse my terms, they may not be correct, as I am neither a pro baker nor is English my language), what I meant here was the thing used to transfer the dough piece ito the oven, i.e. what we in German literally call „to shoot in“   ;-)

There is no 2nd raising needed, just place each cut and opened piece onto the shovel and „shoot in“, onto a baking stone in the oven, if you have, and if you don’t, I strongly recommend you to get one. I use a rectangular flat and smooth slab of white marble, approx 15 mm thick, the size of the oven. This baking stone does miracles in the usual household oven, for any kind of bread, rolls or loafs, or pizza. At „shooting in“, spray the oven walls with water to get humidity, be quick for not losing heat and humidity. Reduce the heat to 230 degC and bake the Fougasse for 12 to 14 minutes until golden brown.

The apprentice closely monitors the baking to catch the right moment for the correct color shade. Fougasse go very well with cold meat, cheese, sausages, salami, coppa, ham, etc., and don’t forget a good glass of apple juice – or wine.

Some may know the Fougasse as a large bread, not for serving individually to one person. Mine – or rather Richard Bertinet’s – are small, with 83 g flour only.

Here, in this baker’s window at Vallon Pont d’Arc in the Ardèche region, is a large Fougasse; compare it to the rolls at the right lower corner, or to the baker master’s size.  ;-)

10 thoughts on “Fougasse for Bread Baking Day

  1. Deine Fougasses gefallen mir besser als die vom Buchcover.

    Ich wollte übrigens auch Fougasse machen, habe mich aber im letzten Augenblick für was anderes entschieden.😉

  2. Kompliment – die sehen perfekt aus und jetzt schäme ich mich erst richtig für die verkorksten Dinger, die ich neulich gepostet habe😦

  3. Schön dass dir mini bilder gfalled! Freut mi sehr.
    Die gsehnd ja mega uuus!!! Mir gfallt dis blog sehr!
    Appezöller Chäsflade muni umbedingt nachkoche!

  4. I do think your fougasse looks beautiful.
    I love this bread but always made it as one big bread, but from now I’m making it like this.
    Thanks for participating in BBD.

  5. I was asked to comment on the book that I show in the post:
    This great book has changed my „baking life“, which in fact I haven’t had before the book. I got it as a X-mas present, and since then I bake; we now rarely buy bread, in fact.

    The recipes are almost fool proof. What I especially appreciate are the general basics, as working with the dough, the baking stone in the oven, lots of hints, and step by step guidance with pictures.

    Here is the link to the author’s cooking class business

  6. I’m a big fan of richard bertinet. that looks like a book I’d want on my shelf right now. I always use his slap and fold technique for kneading dough.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

