Yellow Almost Thai Veggie Curry

During my bicycle trip I learned to appreciate one-pot dishes, as with one fire you can only have one pot heated at a time. And at home it reduces the number of pots to be cleaned after cooking dramatically; a nice side effect, although I have the habit to clean pots and pans immediately after use, while I am still cooking.

This dish I did for several reasons: there was another zucchini from the already starting avalanche of zucchinis (courgettes) in the garden, there were potatoes in the cellar that didn’t look that good anymore, and my potato harvest is around the corner, there was a tofu in the fridge well over its date, and finally, I had found a yellow Thai curry paste at Lidl which is absolutely up to European standards, quite tasty, though not as hot and not as crispy as real Thai paste.

Yellow almost Thai veggie curry

Ingredients
1 onion, sliced
3 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
1-2 TS yellow curry paste
1 red chili, of the large type, 15 cm long
500 ml coconut milk
5 kaffir lime leaves
5 small potatoes
1 medium size courgette (zucchini)
250 g (1 1/3 cups) whole buckwheat kernels
250 g (1 1/3 cups) red lentils
250 g stiff whiteish tofu
1 cup self-made vegetable broth (frozen)
coriander leaves, a lot
salt

Heat a pot, add corn oil (or other), add onion, then garlic, curry paste, and all up to the zucchini, and a while later the lentils and the buckwheat, towards the end the coriander leaves. Add water if needed, salt to taste. Serve with some salad.

Above quantities are for 4 good eaters, depending, of course.

Accompanying Music

Mark Knopfler, Sailing to Philadelphia

6 thoughts on “Yellow Almost Thai Veggie Curry

  1. Wie bist Du denn auf den Buchweizen gekommen? Weil Du ihn ihm Regal fandest oder wird der auch in Thailand verwendet?

    …schön, mal wieder von Dir zu lesen🙂

  2. In einem Topf kochen ist immer gut, dann braucht man schon nicht soviel abzuwaschen. Wenn es nicht ganz so scharf ist, kommt mir das sehr entgegen.

    Mir gefällt Deine Begleitmusik besonders gut. Vor einigen Wochen waren wir in Stuttgart in der Schleyerhalle bei Mark Knopfler. Für mich ein unvergessliches Erlebnis.

  3. @Susa
    Buchweizenmehl kenne ich schon sehr lange für Nudeln (pizzoccheri) und Spätzli, die Körner fand ich beim Türken.
    Mir ist nicht bekannt, ob in Thailand Buchweizen verwendet wird, könnte es mir aber denken, da Buchweizen-Teigwaren in Asien bekannt sind, so die Soba in Japan, in kalte Sosse getunkt, oder die Naeng Myon in Korea, in Eiswasser gegessen.

    @Mestolo
    Schön, dass Dir mein Mischgewerkel passt.

    @Linda
    Wusste nichts vom Konzert, wäre aber auch etwas weit gewesen für mich, je nach Verkehr, bin eh nicht ein Grosskonzertgeher.

  4. Das sieht sehr fein us und chunt grad richtig! Ich plane nämli scho lang öppis mit Buchweizen aber na ja, ich bi chli ratlos gsi aber jez gahts dann entli los.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

