Rocket Soup with Spinach Rolls

In a book catalog I saw an open cookbook with a picture that tempting that I needed to cook it, furthermore, as we are having, or should I say had, lots of rocket in the garden. How to, was the question, usually well answered by Google, and I found exactly the cookbook recipe in the internet. In einem Buchkatalog sah ich ein offenes Kochbuch mit einer Foto, die so anmachend war, dass ich das Gericht kochen musste, zumal wir sehr viel Rucola im Garten haben, oder sollte ich sagen hatten. Rucola Suppe mit Spinat Rouladen. Wie machen, war die Frage, Google weiss Bescheid. Ich fand genau das Kochbuch mit dem Rezept im Internet.
Des Deutschen mächtige Leser wollen das Rezept bei Interesse bitte dort ansehen.

For the dough
50 g wheat flor
125 ml milk
1 pinch salt
2 egg yolks
25 g molten butter
oil or butter fat for frying

For the filling
200 g leaf spinach, salt, 1 egg yolk
1 tsp flour
freshly ground black pepper, ground nutmeg
1 slice white bread without crust

For the soup
400 g rocket
3 shallots
45 g butter
salt, pepper
100 ml white wine
800 ml vegetable stock
400 g cream
30 g cold butter cubes

Directions

(1) Mix flour with milk and 60 ml water. Add egg yolks and molten butter. Stir to a smooth dough, let stand for 30 minutes.

(2) Heat oil or butter fat in frying pan and fry 4 thin pan cakes (crêpes), I got 3 only! Cut to square and lay on glad wrap. Let cool.

(3) Clean and blanche spinach, press out well. Blend with egg yolk, salt, pepper, nutmeg, bread to a paste. Smear onto the crêpes.

(4) Close the crêpe rolls with yarn and cook in water at 80 deg C for around 15 minutes. Remove the rolls, refresh with cold water, and cut into slices.

(5) Remove the rocket leaves from the stalks, put aside. Finely dice the shallots. Melt 40 g butter in a pot, sautée 2 diced shallots and the rocket stems. Salt, pepper, and deglaze with white wine. Reduce to half, add stock. Reduce to half again. Add cream, cook for 5 minutes. Take from heat and pass through a sieve.

(6) Blanche rocket leaves and press out well. Melt the remaining butter. Sautée the 3rd shallot and the rocket leaves. Take from the heat, blend with cold butter cubes, and let cool.

(7) Re-heat the soup, add rocket mass (6) and mix with the hand-held blender. Season to taste with salt, pepper, and nutmeg. Serve with spinach roll slices, and if you like, garnished with rocket leaves.

As there was no spinach at the house, I went to the garden and picked herbs and other greens for the roulade filling, basil, celery and turnip leaves, sage, lovage, and mint.

Da kein Spinat im Haus war, ging ich in den Garten und pflückte Kräuter und anderes Grünzeug für die Rouladen-Füllung, Basilikum, Sellerie- und Herbstrüben-Blätter, Salbei, Liebstöckel und Minze.

The herb and greens paste smeared onto the crêpes.

Die Kräuter-/Blätter-Paste auf die Omletten geschmiert.

How can they, she, whoever, cook them in water!! I steamed them, perfect for these rolls.

Wie kann man, sie, er, wer immer, die Rollen im Wasser ziehen lassen!! Ich steamte, perfekt für diese Rouladen.

These are 300 g rocket leaves, and almost no rocket was left in the garden. Hence, I decided to use half of the soup quantities, and 1/3 became rocket pesto.

Das sind 300 g Rucola, und im Garten war fast keiner mehr. So entschied ich mich für die halbe Suppenmenge, und 1/3 wurde Pesto.

This was the result of using the hand-held blender on the rocket leaves, forget it.

Das war das Resultat mit dem Stabmixer in den Rucola-Blättern, vergiss es!

My K… blender did the job nicely. I had picked the leaves from the stalks in the garden to let the plants grow further, did the soup with rocket leaves only, no step (5) in my case.

Mein K… Mixer erledigte den Job problemlos. Ich hatte die Blätter im Garten von den Stielen gerupft, damit der Rucola weiter wachsen kann, machte die Suppe nur mit Blättern, also ohne Schritt (5).

Even without stalks, just using the leaves, it paid to screen out the fiber fraction.

Auch ohne Stiele, nur mit Blättern, zahlte es sich aus, die Faseranteile auszusieben.

This picture illustrates how nice it is to have self-grown potatoes. I picked up even the smallest little potatoes and sorted them out for a cute roast potato dish. They are here joined by steamed carrots and tenderloin of lamb. Dieses Bild zeigt, wie schön es ist, selbst-gezogene Kartoffeln zu haben. Ich sammelte jedes noch so kleine Erdäpfelchen und sortierte diese für niedliche Bratkartoffeln aus. Mit auf dem Teller sind gedämpfte Karotten und Lamm-Filets.

Musical Accompaniment

George Winston, Summer (1991)

22 thoughts on “Rocket Soup with Spinach Rolls

  1. Erich, your soup and spinach rolls look wonderful. I’h especially intrigued by the spinach rolls. I hope you are having a great day. Blessings…Mary

  2. Allein schon Deine Crepes sind nachahmenswert. Überbacken im Ofen müsste doch auch gehen, oder? Grüße aus Kefallonia, auch dem wohlverdienten Urlaub🙂

  3. Ooooh ich beneide Dich um die Kartoffeln. Als ich klein war haben meine Eltern auch welche angebaut, die waren so lecker. Die Suppe und vor allem die Pfannkuchen gefallen mir auch gut. Eventuell probiere ich die Pfannkuchen mal in einer klaren Suppe.

  4. Ich find’s gut, daß für die Füllung kein Spinat verwendet wurde.
    Hätte ich auch so gemacht. Und die Crepes dann ohne Suppe, nur mit etwas Joghurt, gegessen.😀

  5. Ist die Suppe nicht sehr scharf? Ich habe auch mega viel Rucola im Garten, der ist aber viel schärfer als gekaufter. Fräulein K. mag scharf nicht so, den Rest der Familie würde es nicht stören.

  6. Ich bin ja nicht so der Rucolafan, aber das Essen auf dem letzten Bild, mit den lecker Kartöffelchen. Nehm ich! Und die Suppe statt Rucola mit Spinat. Oder ich probier ihn nochmal…

  7. In den Garten zu gehen, um etwas abzuzupfen oder auszugraben und noch am selben Tag auf dem Teller zu haben ist eine wahre Wonne.
    Allerdings muss ich zugeben, dass ich bei der Kartoffelernte nicht so akribisch bin wie du.

    1. @kulinaria
      Aha, hätte ich die beiden Tupfen im Photoshop entfernen sollen?
      Die Suppe war OK, nicht umwerfend, halt stark Rucola, super waren die Omeletten mit Kräuterfüllung.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

